17 weeks: Turnip

turnips

 

Again, I can’t believe it’s been 3 weeks since I last posted. This pregnancy is absolutely flying by and I don’t know whether that is a good thing or not!

On Monday we had our midwife home visit. She took my stats and we got to listen to baby’s heartbeat. It was so lovely and reassuring. She had no issues finding it and it was so strong and loud. We could even hear when it was moving and kicking!

 

How far along: Week 17

How big is baby: Baby is the size of a turnip

Sleep: Really well. If I get too tired I can feel it and I just make sure I have an early night. I’ve cut back on my commitments completely and making sure that my number one priority is resting and taking care of myself.

Symptoms: Unfortunately I am still suffering with sickness. I had a couple of weeks of feeling great and the last week I have felt exactly like I did in the first trimester. In fact, the actual vomiting may be worse! I have really struggled to keep food down and some days I have been vomiting multiple times a day, which has been horrible. I also seem to be getting frequent painful headaches but these seem to coincide with the peak of sickness. It seems as though I can feel when the hormones are peaking as my boobs hurt more, I get sick and the headaches are intense. Today my boobs are less sore which I think means I will have a vomit free day (yay!). The plus side is I have only gained 3lb so far and I am almost half way!

Best moment of this week: Hearing the heartbeat

Miss anything: Being able to eat like a normal person!

Movement: Although I haven’t felt anything yet I have been getting more frequent ‘growing pains’ in my hip which I have to stretch out as they can get quite intense.

Food cravings: Pasta. Chris made amazing spaghetti and meatballs last night but my stomach is about the size of a peanut at the moment as I only managed a small portion. Chris also bought us amazing cheesecakes and I just couldn’t eat it!

Anything making you queasy or sick: I know I really really need to start eating some more nutritious foods. Vegetables are certainly a no-go at the moment as are salads. I have been able to snack on fruits but I am not having anywhere near as much nutrition as I would like to.

Gender: Chris and I are still saying boy.

How’s your mood: Very content

Looking forward to: The scan in only 9 days!

The Bump: Earlier this week it was huge. However I think I’ve lost a few pounds of weight this week which means my belly seems smaller. There’s still no denying there’s a baby in there!

pregnancy-week-17-skeleton_square

Leave a Reply

